Skip to Main Content

Database Research

This research guide is for students to use in their research, and to show them how to properly conduct database research.

Database Research

Research utilizing databases can be easy if you know how conduct proper research. This lib guide will assist you in searching for sources, how to navigate each database, and the different functions of each database. If you have any questions contact your library staff and they will be able to assist you.

Refer to your professor for guidelines specific to the assignment you are working on as some professors will have different requirements that will need to be considered when finding sources for your research.

You will, for most if not all of your assignments be required to utilize peer reviewed sources.

If you find a book/article on any of the databases that you are unable to access reach out to your library staff, as they will be able to assist you in finding this resource. Make sure you provide staff with as much information as possible examples being the title of the article, author, and ISBN.

Helpful Tips When Researching

Below is a list of tips and tricks to help you in your research:

  • When choosing a topic start broad and narrow down your topic as you find your sources. This ensures that you will have enough sources to support your hypothesis, thesis, and/or topic.
  • Most professors will require, depending on your degree, peer reviewed sources the databases will allow you to set a filter so the only articles being shown are peer reviewed sources. 
  • Most of the databases will cite the source for you in the citation method you prefer, it is strongly recommended to double check this citation because the database will occasionally do the citation incorrectly.
  • If you have any questions reach out to your library staff, they are more than happy to assist you.

Where to find the databases.

Step 1: Click on Electronic Resources (Databases) & Links

Step 2: Click on Databases

Step 3: Select the database you would like to use.

Scholarly Sources vs. Popular Sources

Example

 

 

                             

 

 

 
   Author

Usually a scholar or researcher with expertise in the subject area; Author's credentials and/or affiliation are given.

Author's name may or may not be given; often a professional writer; may or may not have expertise in the subject area.

 
 Audience Other scholars, researchers, and students. General public; the interested non-specialist.

 

Language

 

Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires expertise in subject area  (or a good specialized dictionary!).

 

Vocabulary in general usage; easily understandable to most readers.

 

Graphics

 

 

Graphs, charts, and tables; very few advertisements and photographs.

 

Graphs, charts and tables; lots of glossy advertisements and photographs.

  Layout &
  Organization

 Structured; generally includes the article abstract, objectives, methodology, analysis, results (evidence), discussion, conclusion, and bibliography. Informal; may include non-standard formatting. May not present supporting evidence or a conclusion.

 

  Accountability 

 

Articles are evaluated by  peer-reviewers or referees who are experts in the field; edited for content, format,       and style.

 

Articles are evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field; edited for format and style.

 

References

 

Always has a list of references or bibliography; sources of quotes and facts are cited and can be verified.

 

Rarely has a list of references; usually does not give complete information about sources of information.

 

Examples

 

Annals of Mathematics,  Journal of Abnormal Psychology, History of Education Quarterly, almost anything with Journal in the title.

 

Time, Newsweek, The Nation, and The Economist

Adapted from the Reedley Collee Library libguide on Library Research: Scholarly vs. Popular Resources.