Listed are denominations within the United States, these denominations are categorized by general beliefs such as Baptists, Catholics and Methodist Denominations. The Denominations have the denomination website (if one exists), membership estimates, and the estimated number of churches. These estimates are taken from the Handbook of Denominations in the United States or The Association of Religion Data Archives. Use the drop down tab under denominations to select the type of denomination you are looking for.
The inclusion or omission of denominations does not mean the Watson-Griffith Library endorses/condemns the beliefs of those denominations, this guide is merely for educational purposes. Membership estimates and church number estimates cannot be entirely accurate, therefore the true numbers could be higher or lower.
Key Terms
Church: a building for public and especially Christian worship. As defined in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary.
Congregation: an assembly of persons met for worship and religious instruction As defined in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary.
Denomination: a religious organization whose congregations are united in their adherence to its beliefs and practices. As defined in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary.
Parish: in some Christian denominations, an area cared for by one priest with its own church. As defined in the Cambridge Dictionary.
Temple: a building for religious practice. As defined in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary.
Handbook of Denominations in the United States by 
The Complete Guide to Christian Denominations by