American Church History: Library Resources

American Methodist Collection: The American Methodism project contains roughly 4,000 digital versions of interdisciplinary and historical published materials that were selected to promote better understanding of Methodism in the United States.

American Society of Church History: Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal that publishes original research articles and book reviews covering all areas of the history of Christianity and its cultural contexts in all places and times, including its non-Western expressions. Specialists and historians of Christianity in general find Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture an international publication regularly cited throughout the world and an invaluable resource.

The Association for Religion Data Archives: The U.S. Religion Census is your source for religious data at the county level. It reports the number of congregations in every U.S. county and equivalents for participating faith groups.

Biblica: Published since 1920 by the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, Biblica is a peer-reviewed, research journal and appears four times a year. It is dedicated to  biblical studies on the Old and New Testament, and intertestamentary literature, and covers fields of research, such as exegesis, philology, and history.

Christian Standard Founded in 1866. Now the principal magazine connecting congregations in the far-flung, nondenominational fellowship whose congregations are usually known as Christian Churches or Churches of Christ.

HathiTrust-The Great Awakening: HathiTrust was founded in 2008 as a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. We offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Hymnals of the Stone-Campbell Movement Enos E. Dowling Hymnal Collection, a unique collection of nineteenth century hymnals that have been digitized and placed online for access by scholars, musicians, worship leaders, and others who may have an interest in or love for the music of the Stone-Campbell Movement’s heritage. This site contains the lyrics of over 9,000 hymns from 19 hymnals.

Internet Christian Library Contains one of the largest and most complete archiving of “classical” Christian materials available on the Internet.

Restoration Quarterly Devoted to advancing knowledge and understanding of New Testament Christianity, its backgrounds, its history, and its implications for the present age.

Restoration Serials Index An index of articles from 72 journals, magazines and other periodicals related to the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement.

Stone-Campbell Journal A scholarly platform for biblical interpretation, history, theology, philosophy, apologetics, and cultural criticism for those who value the perspective of the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement and who endeavor to advance its distinctive principles today.

Stone-Campbell Movement Periodical Indexes The Disciples of Christ Historical Society has placed in its Digital Commons the PDFs of Indexes of periodicals in its collection of Stone-Campbell Movement items. 

American Society of Church History: The ASCH is a scholarly community dedicated to studying the history of Christianity and how it relates to culture in all time periods, locations, and contexts.

The Association of Religion Data Archives: The ARDA is a census organization dedicated to documenting religion churches and their membership data for the denominations within the United States.

Church Zip Lists and maps of nearby churches of Christ from a list of 39768 churches, primarily a cappella.

CrossLink International Church locator via zip code for Christian Churches.

Disciples of Christ  Ministries, news and highlights, general assembly, church locator, for the Disciples of Christ in the U.S. and Canada.

LOGOS: The Logos Bible Study app contains a powerful Bible study and sermon prep platform that allows you to study Scripture and consult commentaries, devotionals, Bible dictionaries, and more—all from your computer, tablet, or phone

Study the Church: This website exists to provide people with a deeper understanding of the Bible and Church History for the purpose of loving and serving God better.